At St Peter's we teach all subject areas of the  Australian Curriculum. The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all Australian students. The Australian Curriculum describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It makes clear what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students. It is designed to develop successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.

St Peter's key messages about learners and learning and teachers and teaching are informed by our Christian Catholic traditions and the Brisbane Catholic Education Learning Framework.

Education in Catholic schools focuses on the development of the human person created whole in the image and likeness of God within an evangelising mission that brings faith, life and culture into harmony. (Catholic Schools on the Threshold of the Third Millennium, 1997, 9 & 11)

These key messages are supported by the acknowledgement in the Australian Curriculum that increasingly, in a world where knowledge itself is constantly growing and evolving, students need to develop a set of skills, behaviours and dispositions, or general capabilities that apply across discipline content and equip them to be lifelong learners able to operate with confidence in a complex, information-rich, globalised world.

The Australian Curriculum includes a focus on seven general capabilities (literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology competence, critical and creative thinking, ethical behaviour, personal and social competence and intercultural understanding) and three cross-curriculum priorities (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia and Sustainability).​


St Peter's School promotes learning experiences that are:

  • Learner-centred
  • Collaboratively-organised
  • Inquiry-based
  • Flexibly-constructed
  • Ethically-aware
  • Community-oriented
  • Adequately-resourced
  • Strategically-linked

Key learning areas include:

In Catholic Schools, Religious Education plays an important role in our curriculum. We follow the Religious Education  Program for the Brisbane Archdiocese.